euportal twitter euportal facebook

19 Member states banned GMOs

19 Member States have submitted demands for the exclusion of their territory (or part of their territory) from the geographical scope of already authorised, or pending applications for GMO cultivation (option 1), by October 3 that was the deadline to submit demands under the transitional measures. The list can still be modified by the Member States under certain conditions. The Member States are: Latvia,Greece,France,Croatia,Austria,Hungary,Netherlands,Belgium (for the Region of Wallonia),Poland,Lithuania,UK (for Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland),Cyprus ,Germany (except for research),Bulgaria,Italy,Denmark (for the 4 GMOs with EFSA opinion),Slovenia,Luxembourg (for the 4 GMOs with EFSA opinion)and Malta. More :

Source: EC Spokesperson service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>